Bishop's Council

Bishop’s Council is responsible for considering matters of policy, advising the diocesan bishop and determining how matters should be taken forward to the Diocesan Synod. It is the executive committee of the Diocesan Synod and the board of directors of the Diocesan Board of Finance.

The council handles a range of financial and strategic business and considers issues raised by diocesan boards, councils and committees. It approves the agendas for Diocesan Synod and considers issues raised by the General Synod and by deaneries, parishes and individual Diocesan Synod members.


Its members come from a broad range of backgrounds. Ex-officio members are the president and vice-presidents of Diocesan Synod, the area bishops and archdeacons, the chair and the vice-chair of the Diocesan Board of Finance and the dean of Christ Church or their representative.

There are 18 archdeaconry clergy and lay representatives, elected by their respective archdeaconry members of the Diocesan Synod.

Four members are nominated by the bishop from amongst the members of the Diocesan Synod.

The Houses of Clergy and of Laity may co-opt members, and the Bishop of Oxford also invites representatives from other denominations to participate in meetings.

Members of Bishop’s Council are:

Ex-Officio members


The Bishop of Oxford, the Rt Revd Dr Steven Croft
The Bishop of Dorchester, the Rt Revd Gavin Collins
The Bishop of Reading, the Rt Revd Olivia Graham
The Bishop of Buckingham, the Rt Revd Dr Alan Wilson


The Ven Guy Elsmore (Buckingham)
The Ven Jonathan Chaffey (Oxford)
The Ven Stephen Pullin (Berkshire)
The Ven David Tyler (Dorchester)

Chair of the Board of Finance

Sir Hector Sants

Vice-chair of the Board of Finance

Mrs Julie Dziegiel

Chair of the House of Clergy

The Revd Canon Dr Geoff Bayliss

Chair of the House of Laity

Mr John Sykes

Dean of Oxford:

The Very Revd Professor Sarah Foot

Elected and nominated members (Laity)

Mr Peter Barrett (Berkshire)
Mr Mark Burton (Berkshire)
Ms Gillian Hamnett (Oxford)
Ms Alison Kirk (Buckingham)
Mr Daniel Matovu (Bishop's nominee)
Mr Gavin Merrylees (Buckingham)
Dr Shirley Northover (Dorchester)
Mr Michael Powell (Dorchester)
Mrs Sue Scane (Bishop’s nominee)
Mrs Sue Scott (Dorchester)
Dr Anna Thomas-Betts (Buckingham)
Mrs Kathryn Winrow (Berkshire)

Elected and nominated members (Clergy)

The Revd Canon Janet Binns  (Buckingham)
The Revd Karen Charman (Dorchester)
The Revd Canon Richard Lamey (Berkshire)
The Revd Darren McFarland (Oxford)
The Revd David Meakin (Buckingham)
The Revd Julie Mintern (Berkshire)
The Revd Sarah Sharp (Dorchester)

Page last updated: Wednesday 6th December 2023 4:39 PM
Powered by Church Edit