RSS Feed

Faith communities join national friendship initiative


The Oxfordshire Civic, Community and Faith Leaders Group will host one of a series of national events being held across the country by the Together for Humanity initiative on 21 January.

Together for Humanity is supported by the Together Coalition – a coalition of hundreds of organisations from the NHS to the Scouts, the Football Association to the Women’s Institute.

The purpose of this event, at Oxford Town Hall, is to draw together our communities in friendship, understanding and peace. All those lost to the conflict in Israel and Palestine and other conflicts across the world will be remembered. Those attending will stand together, as citizens/residents of Oxfordshire and the United Kingdom, in solidarity and commitment to work to build relationships between all our communities. 

The occasion will include short prayers including non-faith readings, silence, song and music – all delivered by Oxfordshire’s diverse communities. It follows a peace vigil (pictured above) held in Oxford's city centre in November, which brought together all of Oxford's faith and civic leaders in a joint cry for peace.

A booklet specially prepared for the occasion will include messages of support from leaders across Oxfordshire, representing diverse backgrounds and sectors. Please send your message of support (no more than 200 words) to:

To attend the event, at 3pm on 21 January, register for free tickets online

A full alphabetical list of the Oxfordshire Civic, Community and Faith Leaders Group:

Fiaz Ahmed, Shaikh Bin Baaz Mosque
Mark Bhagwandin, Secretary, Oxford Hindu Temple and Community Centre Project
Revd Canon Dr Charlotte Bannister-Parker, Founder, Hope4Creation
Cllr Susan Brown, Leader, Oxford City Council
Revd Anthony Buckley, City Rector
The Venerable Jonathan Chaffey, Archdeacon of Oxford
Rt Revd Gavin Collins, Bishop of Dorchester
The Rt Revd Dr Steven Croft, Bishop of Oxford
Surinder Dhesi DL, Banbury Sikh Community
Anneliese Dodds, MP
Penny Faust, Former Chair of Oxford Council of Faiths & Jewish community
Martin Goodman, President of the Oxford Jewish Congregation
Louise Gordon, Vice President, Oxford Jewish Congregation
Caroline Green, Chief Executive, Oxford city Council
Imam Monawar Hussain, Founder, The Oxford Foundation
Mutahar Islam, South Oxfordshire Muslim Community
Sadat Khan, President, Madina Mosque (representing Oxford Three Mosques)
Layla Moran, MP
Jawaid Malik, JP, Vice Chair, Oxford Council of Faiths and Chair, Asian Cultural Centre Association
Superintendent Bruce Riddell, LPA for city of Oxford
Sally Scott, High Sheriff of Oxfordshire
Rebecca Vickers, Chair, Oxford Council of Faiths
Dr. Reuven Ziegler, Jewish community

Page last updated: Thursday 11th January 2024 12:47 PM
Powered by Church Edit